Blue Island's newspaper for the people

Welcome

Take your time, look around. 

Content will be updated monthly.

As always, all comments and suggestions are welcome and appreciated!



forum october 2019 issue

Enjoy the recent issue of the forum today! Our print copies are available today at our pick up spots.

October 2019 (pdf)

Download

*METRO SOUTH UPDATES*

Senate Bill 115

Today, the Illinois House voted 74-35 to support Senate Bill 115, new legislation from state Rep. Bob Rita (D-Blue Island) to help repurpose MetroSouth Medical Center in Blue Island after its recent closure.

The legislation Rep. Rita is pushing ahead with in the ongoing fall veto session in Springfield would allow the hospital to reopen as a freestanding emergency center with a properly licensed and qualified health care provider, and ensure the new provider could utilize $7.8 million in state funds that were already allocated to MetroSouth as part of the state's program to help hospitals transition to different facilities.

Rita told colleagues he is encouraged by conversations with several medical providers after MetroSouth's recent closure about ensuring the community's most important health care needs are met, and this legislation will help move that forward.
"This is something that's very important to my district. This is funding that could actually be used to open up this freestanding emergency room and provide some services that the community needs, versus leaving an empty structure and creating a health care desert for low-income and working families," Rita said in urging passage of the bill on the House floor Wednesday afternoon. 

The bill now moves to the Senate for consideration when the veto session restarts on Nov. 12. 

METROSOUTH
METROSOUTH

ALDERMEN & WARDS

 

Dexter Johnson

1st Ward Alderman 2009 – Present

Finance Committee

Public Health & Safety Committee

djohnson@cityofblueisland.org

708-275-3961

Annette Alexander

1st Ward Alderman 2019 – Present

Finance Committee

Community Development Committee

aalexander@cityofblueisland.org

William Cazares

2nd Ward Alderman 2019 – Present

Community Development Committee

Public Health and Safety Committee

wcazares@cityofblueisland.org

708-256-6761

708-527-9368

Fred Bilotto

2nd Ward Alderman 2014 – Present

Community Development Committee, Chairman

Finance Committee

fbilotto@cityofblueisland.org

708-932-2907

Nancy Rita

3rd Ward Alderman 2011 – Present

Judiciary Committee, Chairman

Municipal Services Committee

nrita@cityofblueisland.org

708-385-2183

Kevin Donahue

3rd Ward Alderman 2013 – Present

Finance Committee, Chairman

Judiciary Committee

kdonahue@cityofblueisland.org

219-689-1582

Tom Hawley

4th Ward Alderman 2013 – Present

Mayor Pro-Tem

Community Development Committee

Judiciary Committee

thawley@cityofblueisland.org

708-612-5463

Bill Fahrenwald

4th Ward Alderman 2017 – present

Municipal Services Committee

Public Health and Safety Committee

bfahrenwald@cityofblueisland.org

708-528-0681

Mike Mech

5th Ward Alderman 2019 – present

Municipal Services Committee

Community Development Committee

mmech@cityofblueisland.org

773-816-9595

Johnny Hill

5th Ward Alderman 2019 – Present

Judiciary Committee

Public Health and Safety Committee

jhill@cityofblueisland.org

708-385-7438

Raeann Cantelo Zylman

6th Ward Alderman 2019 – Present

Community Development Committee

Judiciary Committee

rzylman@cityofblueisland.org

708-932-3868

Candace Carr

6th Ward Alderman 2013 – Present

Municipal Services Committee, Chairman

Public Health and Safety Committee

ccarr@cityofblueisland.org

708-653-6196

James Klinker

7th Ward Alderman 2019 – Present

Finance Committee

Public Health and Safety Committee

jklinker@cityofblueisland.org

708-935-9095

Alecia Slattery

7th Ward Alderman 2015 – Present

Public Health and Safety Committee, Chairman

Municipal Services Committee

aslattery@cityofblueisland.org

708-252-1720

BLUE ISLAND WARD MAP (pdf)

Download

About Us

About Us